
BOURBON BARREL TAXATION TASK FORCE 

 
Minutes of the 1st Meeting 

of the 2022 Interim 

 

 June 24, 2022  

 

Call to Order and Roll Call 

The 1st meeting of the Bourbon Barrel Taxation Task Force was held on Friday, 

June 24, 2022, at 10:00 AM, in Room 169 of the Capitol Annex. Representative Chad 

McCoy, Chair, called the meeting to order, and the secretary called the roll. 

 

Present were: 

 

Members: Senator Robert Stivers, Co-Chair; Representative Chad McCoy, Co-

Chair; Senator Jimmy Higdon; Representatives Jennifer Decker and Thomas Huff. 

 

Guests:  Eric Gregory, President, Kentucky Distillers Association, and John Brent, 

Judge Executive, Henry County. 

 

LRC Staff:  Jennifer Hays, Cynthia Brown, Sarah Watts, and Ashton Thompson 

 

 Alcohol Taxation  

Jennifer Hays, Committee Staff Administrator, Appropriations and Revenue, 

Legislative Research Commission, presented an overview of alcohol taxation in Kentucky.  

 

Ms. Hays testified that the distribution and sale of alcohol in Kentucky is controlled 

by a three-tier system: manufacture, wholesaler, and retailer. While the industry has grown 

to include microbreweries, small-farm wineries, and direct-to-consumer sales, the tax 

system has not changed much.  

 

Wholesalers in Kentucky are responsible for three types of taxes: alcohol excise tax, 

wholesale sales tax, and distilled spirits case sales tax. 

 

The alcohol excise tax is levied upon the use, sale, or distribution by sale or gift and 

is based on the total volume of products sold. Distilled spirits are taxed at a rate of $1.92 

per wine gallon and $0.25 on each gallon when the volume within a retail container is six 

percent or less. Wine is taxed at a rate of $0.50 on each gallon of wine and no less than 

$0.04 on the sale or distribution of any retail container of wine. Malt beverages are taxed 

at a rate of $2.50 on each barrel of 31 gallons, and one percent of the tax collected is 

deposited to the Malt Beverage Educational Fund. Alcohol used solely for sacramental 

purposes or is unfit for beverage purposes is exempt from the alcohol excise tax.   
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In response to a question from Representative McCoy, Ms. Hays said her 

interpretation is that a product only needs to contain distilled spirits for the excise tax rate 

to apply. In response to another question from Representative McCoy, Ms. Hays said 

distilled spirits are defined in Kentucky statute.  

 

Responding to questions from Representative Decker, Ms. Hays agreed that the 

federal excise tax on distilled spirits is taxes on a proof gallon and that there is no reference 

to proof gallons in Kentucky taxation laws.     

The wholesale sales tax is for the privilege of making wholesale sales of beer, wine, 

or distilled spirits and is based upon the value of the product sold. The taxable base is gross 

receipts from the wholesale sale. Prior to July 1, 2015, the rate was 11 percent. Today, it is 

11 percent for distilled spirits and 10 percent for wine and beer. Beginning March 12, 2021, 

the same rates will apply to direct shippers. One percent of the tax due is reimbursed for 

the collection and reporting of the tax, except for microbreweries and distilleries.  

 

In response to a question from Representative Decker, Ms. Hays said staff would 

contact the Department of Revenue for information regarding how many taxpayers are in 

each category of distilled spirits, beer, and wine. 

 

The distilled spirits case sales tax requires each wholesaler to pay $0.05 per case 

sold in Kentucky.  

 

  In response to a question from Representative McCoy, Ms. Hays confirmed that the 

tax is based on the volume of cases sold.  

 

 Ms. Hays directed members’ attention to the information in their meeting materials 

that reviewed the different state tax rates on distilled spirits, beer, and wine. 

 

In response to a question from Representative McCoy, Ms. Hays said that she was 

not sure if other states tax on a proof gallon, but many states list the rate based on a specific 

percent of alcohol and that may mean that when the percentage of alcohol reaches that 

percentage level, the alcohol is taxed at a lower rate.  

In response to a question from Senator Stivers, Ms. Hays said the taxes on 

wholesalers are all general fund receipts, except for the 1 percent that goes to Malt 

Beverage Educational Fund.   

 

Ms. Hays explained that House Bill 249 of the 2021 Regular Session expanded the 

definition of “machinery for new and expanded industry” to include machinery directly 

used for manufacturing distilled spirits, wine, or malt beverages at a plant facility that 

includes a retail establishment. This created a Sales and Use Tax exemption for that 

equipment.  
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The Supreme Court ruled in South Dakota v. Wayfair (2018) that states may impose 

a sales tax on purchases made from out-of-state retailers even if the retailer does not 

maintain a physical presence in the state. This case also makes it easier for states to adopt 

a streamlined sale tax approach which relieves the burden on interstate commerce and 

creates a more uniform approach among states for imposing sales and use taxes on retailers 

outside of the taxing state.  

 

Ms. Hays covered the property tax on distilled spirits in bonded warehouses which 

is imposed on every owner, proprietor, or custodian of a bonded warehouse in which 

distilled spirits are stored. The value of the tax is assessed by the Department of Revenue 

and then the certified valuation is returned to the applicable county clerks for local taxation. 

The distilled spirits are subject to a reduced tangible personal property state tax rate of 

$0.05 per $100 of assessed value, and the tax is due on September 15th following the 

assessment by the Department of Revenue on January 1st.  

 

In response to questions from Senator Stivers, Eric Gregory, President, Kentucky 

Distillers Association, said that the value of distilled spirits is determined by a formula that 

calculates the volume and age of the barrel. Barrels that have aged longer are worth more 

in value.  

 

In response to a question from Representative Decker, Mr. Gregory said that the 

Department of Revenue does not distinguish between distilleries when calculating the 

value of barrels. In response to another question from Representative Decker, Mr. Gregory 

said it would be difficult to determine the true market value based solely on the brand of 

the barrel.  

 

Ms. Hays said that the distilled spirits tax credit allows taxpayers who pay Kentucky 

property taxes on distilled spirits to claim a nonrefundable and nontransferable credit on 

their income tax return. The income tax credit is equal to the distilled spirits, total property 

tax assessed and paid, and must only be used for capital improvements at the premises of 

the distiller.  

 

In response to a question from Representative Decker, Ms. Hays said that you can 

accumulate the income tax credit over years, but once it is taken on the tax return there is 

no carry forward of the credit. 

 

Ms. Hays directed members’ attention to the information provided by the Kentucky 

Distillers Association that listed the net loss in revenue in each county if the property tax 

on distilled spirits was repealed. School districts would be impacted by a total of $18.5 

million but would be able to recoup $13 million through the Support Education Excellence 

in Kentucky (SEEK) funding program. A total of $1.2 million would be lost if cities were 

to impose a tax on distilled spirits, and there would be no way to recover the lost revenue 
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through any other formula. County fiscal courts would also be impacted by a loss of $3.5 

million. Total countywide net loss is $15.6 million in revenue.  

 

In response to a question from Representative McCoy, Ms. Hays said the property 

tax estimates in the chart were calculated using the most current data available, and 

therefore, are based upon assessed values from one year and property tax rates of another 

year, due to the timing of the assessment and collection of the tax under the property tax 

calendar. 

 

In response to questions from Representative Decker, Ms. Hays said that the 

amounts on the chart are county revenues that are not collected by the state. The tax 

revenues are collected and distributed at the local level. 

 

 In response to questions from Senator Stivers, Ms. Hays confirmed the amounts of 

state and local taxes paid in relation to distilled spirits. 

 

 Ms. Hays explained that there are two alcohol license fees that are assessed at the 

local level. In accordance with KRS 243.060, a county or consolidated local government 

in which traffic in alcoholic beverages is permitted may impose a license fee that is based 

on business activity. Per KRS 243.070, a city or consolidated local government may 

impose a license fee on any person holding a city license. KRS 243.075 permits a 

regulatory license fee of up to 5% to be imposed by cities and counties based on population 

requirements, but the use of the revenues from the fee is limited.  

 

 At the local level, regulatory fees can be imposed on a city or a county without a 

city with a population of less than 20,000. This fee applies to gross receipts of the sale of 

alcoholic beverages at each licensed establishment. The local jurisdiction must use the 

funds specifically for any policing, regulatory, or administrative expenses related to the 

sale of alcohol.  

 

 In response to a question from Representative Decker, Ms. Hays said that the 

number of license fees per county varies depending on the jurisdiction.  

 

 In response to comments made by Senator Higdon, Ms. Hays said there is a simple 

change that could be made to make the income tax credit refundable and remove the 

requirements in place to claim the credit.  It would cost money, but is a simple solution.  

 

In response to a question from Senator Stivers, Mr. Gregory said that a moist county 

is a county in which alcoholic beverage sales are permitted in certain parts of the county, 

like at golf courses. A wet county is a county in which alcohol is sold countywide. In 

response to other questions from Senator Stivers, Ms. Hays responded that Department for 

Local Government has Uniform Financial Information Report (UFIR) data, but it is not 

consistent. John Brent, Judge Executive, Henry County, said the fees associated with retail 



Committee meeting materials may be accessed online at https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/CommitteeDocuments/357 

5 

sales can only be used to run the administration of the program. In his county, the fees 

generate $100,000 in revenues a year. His county has a population of about 16,000 people 

and has a couple of restaurants and convenience stores selling beer. 

 

With there being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 11:36 p.m.  

 


